News: Celebrating over 10 years serving the creative community

Author Topic: Archival and Preservation of important HL1 mods  (Read 4677 times)

Bekey

• twitter.com/@bekey_
  • Global Moderator
  • Roach
  • Some other nerd
Archival and Preservation of important HL1 mods
« on: February 13, 2016, 01:31:51 PM »
Digital archival and preservation of games is challenging, especially when applied to mods that are dependent on the game they're based on. It's only a question of time before sites like moddb, planetphillips, HLC & co go under, or Valve breaks the mod pipeline once again.

I'm no expert on the topic of HL1 mods, but I'd be surprised if someone had already properly preserved hl1 mods for future generations. So I'm sorta proposing that we take the initiative today, before it gets any worse.

What are some mods that should take absolute high-priority? What are some mods that should be disregarded despite their popularity? Should we attempt preserving multiplayer mods? Where do we safely store the files for years to come?
Nah?

Alex

• For Hire A
  • Gman
Re: Archival and Preservation of important HL1 mods
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2016, 11:55:22 AM »
What are some mods that should take absolute high-priority?
Poke 646
ETC 2
Possibly Todesangst 1 + 2
DiamondD's packs no seriously, if I'm ever going to play HL again those are the easiest way to do it

Should we attempt preserving multiplayer mods?
Nah, no one plays them at all. It really isn't worth the bother.

Where do we safely store the files for years to come?
That's a tough one since a lot of public places delete inactive files after about 60 days. Probably for now the safest bets are to ensure there's always a mirror of the really good stuff, and the best places for things to be are HLC and MODDB; possibly Mega or Zippyshare too but I don't know how long they keep files up.

Josef

• Baby Gargantua
  • Show them online!
    • Bloodbath Softworks
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2016, 12:49:38 PM »