News: Celebrating over 10 years serving the creative community

Author Topic: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!  (Read 1294 times)

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
i have problem steam is auto installing the high definition pack for half life and i dont want that i dont want the offical pack i want to use custom contet and the offical high definition pack disables that.. this problem started from today.. i tryed to shut down steam remove the high definition gcf file but any time i open steam and launch any game ( i have only half life and blue shift and opposing force and mods for half life) its just updateing automatically and i have the high definition pack again.. what should i do to slove this??
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 08:36:13 AM by spforce »

Imperial Wizard

  • BSR Team
  • Big Momma
  • *
  • Posts: 650
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2013, 07:48:54 AM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Punctuation

This might fix one of your problems.
Ah?

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2013, 08:29:21 AM »
you need to help me and not to insult me on my punctuation.. this is how my punctuation is for now at least being arrogant?? so disgusting..

better dont replay overall if my punctuation is not good for you
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 08:34:38 AM by spforce »

Imperial Wizard

  • BSR Team
  • Big Momma
  • *
  • Posts: 650
Ah?

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2013, 09:17:27 AM »
really not funny

Danboe

  • Donator
  • Scientists
  • ****
  • Posts: 37
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2013, 09:24:38 AM »
steam://removeaddon/halflifehd

Simon

  • BSR Team
  • Gman
  • *
  • Posts: 1127
  • Whiskey brony
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2013, 09:33:49 AM »
Actually it was kind of funny

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2013, 09:36:51 AM »
doesn't work also steam report this: The Half-Life HiDef pack is not currently active.

but it still uses the hd pack
uninstalling steam didnt helped too

Alex

  • For Hire A
  • Gman
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2013, 10:41:09 AM »
you need to help me and not to insult me on my punctuation.. this is how my punctuation is for now at least being arrogant?? so disgusting..

better dont replay overall if my punctuation is not good for you
doesn't work also steam report this: The Half-Life HiDef pack is not currently active.

but it still uses the hd pack
uninstalling steam didnt helped too
Thanks for giving me a laugh pal

Simon

  • BSR Team
  • Gman
  • *
  • Posts: 1127
  • Whiskey brony
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2013, 01:35:20 PM »
Try to activate it, launch the game, then deactivate it

Use the links on this page
https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=3157-QDVN-1426

Imperial Wizard

  • BSR Team
  • Big Momma
  • *
  • Posts: 650
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2013, 02:53:24 PM »
With the latest update valve released for half life, linux compatibility, the butt ugly hd pack has been switched on permanently, no idea why they did this.
So it can't be fixed atm.
Ah?

toadie

  • Global Moderator
  • Combine Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 842
  • Terrible artist, Animator and Programmer.
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2013, 06:41:53 PM »
, no idea why they did this.
So it can't be fixed atm.

Nerk nerk nerk nerk nerk

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #12 on: January 26, 2013, 04:03:20 AM »
its all valve fault.. they getting us stuck with unpatched offical hd pack and you not being able with that to use custom content people already complained too

look on these:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3065555 

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=MTI4MzE

Alex

  • For Hire A
  • Gman
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #13 on: January 26, 2013, 04:11:11 AM »
its all valve fault.. they getting us stuck with unpatched offical hd pack and you not being able with that to use custom content people already complained too

look on these:

http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3065555 

All that rage  :joebiden:

Quote from: Gedeon;33885346
intolerable and scandalous

put back LD models in. This garbage is not the game I paid for.

Quote from: AGRESSOR;33882022
This is really awful, why have you installed that HD pack? 9mmAR became M16/M4, are you serious?! This is my favorite game, I play it mostly everyday on servers, and now you have ruined it. Make it back, mr. Gabe Newell, for Celestia's sake!!!

I'm now asking you, devs, to roll these awful changes back or make the old models and sounds downloadable.
(anyway I will find it by myself now, I can't play normally with this!)
I'm sorry for being angry or something, but that just really freaks me out!

Quote from: Buckarooskij;33884020
Valve, I beg you. Please give us ability to use the normal version of Half-Life. I hate the HD pack to begin with, I belive the 1998 graphics belong to the 1998 game. Not 2001 graphics with a 1998 game. That is why I can never play one of these HD DOOM mods, no matter how high-end you make the graphics, the game itself is still a 1993 game. Also, this is going to drive me insane because of my OCD. Here we have one game with two expansions. The base game has one completely different look from it's expansions, which still use the normal Half-Life look.

If there's not going to be a way to use the traditional graphics, I'm not going to join any type of boycott group or anything like that. But definitely will browse around for an original Half-Life game box. And won't be playing the Steam version.

Fat nerds gonna nerd, this is the funniest shit in a long time. Yeah I know I'm huge nerd for finding it funny.

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #14 on: January 26, 2013, 04:55:50 AM »
this is really strange in opposing force and blue shift (not unlocked the offical of steam) its doesn't use the offical unpatched hd models they just the original ld models so that means its only in the original half life
and in mod with nothing just to check it worked a override replacement for model but anything else was still the unpatched hd that means its reads from the hd gcf if there is no anything in models folder
« Last Edit: January 26, 2013, 04:57:22 AM by spforce »

Josef

  • Baby Gargantua
  • ******
  • Posts: 409
  • Show them online!
    • Bloodbath Softworks
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2013, 07:38:59 AM »
I love how so many people seem to think the HD models are garbage, yet they were made better and look better than the default weapons. :sagan:

Imperial Wizard

  • BSR Team
  • Big Momma
  • *
  • Posts: 650
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2013, 11:22:07 AM »
They are garbage, everything's out of proportion and the textures are flat, making everything look cartoony.
They're terrible from an artistic point of view.
Ah?

SPRKH

  • Cry of Fear Team
  • Gman
  • *
  • Posts: 2612
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2013, 11:45:17 AM »
imho

Josef

  • Baby Gargantua
  • ******
  • Posts: 409
  • Show them online!
    • Bloodbath Softworks
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2013, 05:26:36 PM »
Yet most of you make content based on stuff from the HD pack.

Imperial Wizard

  • BSR Team
  • Big Momma
  • *
  • Posts: 650
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #19 on: January 28, 2013, 11:59:08 PM »
No shit Sherlock.
Ah?

Josef

  • Baby Gargantua
  • ******
  • Posts: 409
  • Show them online!
    • Bloodbath Softworks
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #20 on: January 29, 2013, 03:43:24 AM »
Sorry, it just didn't make very much sense there. I guess that means your hack-jobs are garbage too. :joebiden:

toadie

  • Global Moderator
  • Combine Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 842
  • Terrible artist, Animator and Programmer.
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2013, 06:10:09 AM »
Quote from: Me,in another thread
I haven't made anything with Gearbox-made content since my work on SC4, and even then, it was only because I didn't have the sheer mass of time or manpower to remake and retexture everything. Trust me, it would have happened.

Alex

  • For Hire A
  • Gman
  • *
  • Posts: 3951
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2013, 06:37:27 AM »
Just to weigh in, when the HD pack came out it did seem like a massive improvement. I'm not going to deny it has artistic shortcomings, but it's better than most of the contemporary models that came out for PC games back then.

Editor

  • Administrator
  • Gman
  • *****
  • Posts: 1942
  • Some nerd
    • Half-Life Creations
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #23 on: January 29, 2013, 08:37:45 PM »
I think we can all agree it didn't age well.

Anton

  • Gman
  • ******
  • Posts: 1827
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #24 on: February 08, 2013, 04:53:37 AM »
it sticks out too much from the rest of the game, I roll LD my men.

spforce

  • Roach
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: half life auto installing offical high definition all the time!!!
« Reply #25 on: February 09, 2013, 03:11:56 AM »
i got it working without any problems even with mods i can change anything now